…. sanity?

I’ve just come back from a day of college, after having 3 hours sleep the night before and a couple of hours later standing at the desk in the Arts Block shaking my marraca at people and shouting “GREEN WEEK!!” at passing students, who have a lot more things to worry about than keeping an eye on their carbon footprint. Alas, I catch an eye of an inspired student or two who like the idea of saving our planet and off I go into an excited, almost intoxicated way of expressing what Green Week is, before realising that they were just asking me for the time.

“Its 12.30, wana sweet?” I say in a dull tone.

But patience is a virtue and there are people who do want to help and finally we get a Green Week volunteer list.

But, running Green Week is only the tip of the iceberg in what is to become one of the busiest months of my life. Running for president in the Student Union brings out an unusual side in my person. I find myself thinking logically when deciding how to campaign, more focused and a hell of a lot more relaxed than I should be… is this sane?

Maybe not, but I’m going to roll with it for now. I spent the day suspended in swedish techno while the soft headphones cushion my ears from the breeze, watching students of different shapes and styles pass me by and I try to think about what they may want to get from their college experience.

A girl in heals, perfect make-up, a worried expression on her face and her hands clutched tightly around her laptop case enters the arts block, glances into the reading room then quickly turns for the exit again..

A man in a wetsuit, uses his oar to direct attractive females to his Muck stall…

Some of us are here to be the best we can be, while the rest of us like to take advantage of the fact that wearing a wetsuit to college is perfectly acceptable.

Being a student definitly has its up-sides 🙂

2 responses to “…. sanity?

  1. Conor Mc Ateer

    Lauughing my head off at your mumblings. Your mad.. Good luck with the Presidential campaign! Hope your keeping well.

    • thank you! 🙂 Keep forgetting to check my blog! Didn’t get president but it’s ok, running for it was totally worth it!! I’m well! Studying for my final exams ever whoo! hope you’re well too!

Leave a Reply

